March 13th: Republic Commando: Hard Contact

I really enjoyed Wild Space.  I mean really enjoyed.  It was hard to set down.  You finally get a side of Obi-Wan that you’re not used to.  He’s human (aka not perfect), he’s angry, he’s fed up, and he hates the Sith.  Not that I didn’t like him before (I always have), but this makes me like him even more.  Does he really hate politicians that much he’s angry?  Is he angry because he’s just had 10 years or so of Anakin acting like Anakin does, and now he has a non-Jedi showing similar behaviors?  Is he sick of fighting? I say yes to all three.

It was awesome having some more back story to Bail Organa too.  He’s such an important minor character- shaping Leia into what she becomes.  Sure, this was written after all that great Leia stuff – but we definitely see where her attitude in ANH comes from.  Bail and Anakin are very similar, and it kept them apart.  Now, they’re basically BFF’s – and I approve.

I also like the little Palpatine thinking comments about how he’s Sith and his master plans.  Sure, in a *perfect* world, you’d have no hint of it until ROTS, and then have the Palpatine book come out, some sort of autobiographical memoirs.  That’d be neat.  But you know, I already knew Palpatine was a bad guy from TESB and then ROTJ, so it doesn’t matter too much.  But if someone wanted to read everything start to finish like I’m doing that has NO CLUE as to anything Star Wars, you could have larger surprises by revealing Palpsy is all Sith AFTER he gets Vader (and not reveal Vader is Anakin until TESB).

BAM!

Pages Read Since Last Post: 342

Pages Read to Date: 7389

Books Read to Date: 22

Days: 72

Leave a comment