May 4th – Imperial Commando: 501st

Well, I actually finished Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader late Thursday night, but didn’t have a good opportunity to post last night, so here I am, and having already started 501st.  Also in this time, I did obtain the original Clone Wars cartoon DVDs and have watched both of them – they were enjoyable.  They went pretty quick.  I’m actually glad that there were 2 Clone Wars series.  I think the first was needed to fill in a little gap – and I don’t recall it was a huge undertaking.  It must have been used maybe as a test to gauge how people responded to it – that or along with more books involving the Clone Wars era coming out, it was decided more could be expanded in cartoon/tv form.  You definitely do need the second series to help fill in the gaps between the 3 years betwixt AOTC and ROTS.  There wasn’t enough there in the first go around, but it was cool to watch something definitely more cartoony, and gamey in a way.  And seeing the Jedi basically act as super heroes.  Man, if they could have all performed like Mace did when battling, the whole Clone Wars should have been over at Geonosis.

I did read Dark Lord recently, so it went quick for me.  Before the year began, I did read a number of 1 off’s (that I may or may not have mentioned), and will find myself familiar with The Force Unleased Novels, and a few more.  I will point out, that it seems weird having read about Jedi on Kashyyyk in Dark Lord, when it is again revisited in The Force Unleashed – but with different characters.  I wish TFU used a different planet.  There are plenty of already established ones and creatures that could have been used.  I have nothing against Kashyyyk, but to have multiple books close chronologically with different stories, using the same planet makes it feel too familiar.  Also, I did look up the spelling of Kashyyyk – 3 y’s whereas I was using 2.  I do look up some words from time to time, for the most part try to refrain from it.

Pages Read Since Last Post: 338

Pages Read to Date: 12,460

Books Read to Date: 36

Days: 124

Leave a comment